## MINUTES OF THE HATTIESBURG TOURISM COMMISSION BOARD MEMBERS & MANAGEMENT

Minutes of a specially-called Executive Session of the Board Members of the Hattiesburg Tourism Commission of the City of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, held at the Lake Terrace Convention Center on:

## May 24, 2017

Be it remembered that on the 24<sup>th</sup> day of May, the Board Members of the Hattiesburg Tourism Commission met in an Executive Session at the Lake Terrace Convention Center, being a place fixed by law for such meetings. The Executive Session for the purposes of contract discussions and personnel matters was called to order at **10:30 a.m.** by Frank James, Chairman of the Hattiesburg Tourism Commission. The following Members of the Board were found to be present:

**PRESENT** 

Frank James Shelia Varnado Marshall Bell Anthony Harris ABSENT Bonnie Warren

## **ALSO PRESENT**

David Ott, Legal Counsel Richard Taylor, Management Bud Kirkpatrick, HCC Liaison

During the meeting, Sheila Varnado made motion for the Hattiesburg Tourism Commission to terminate its management contract with the Hattiesburg Convention Commission effective at the end of June 2017, contingent upon reciprocal agreement from the Hattiesburg Convention Commission for the same action. Further, the Commission agreed to accept the verbal resignation of Executive Director Richard Taylor effective June 30, 2017. The Commission and Richard Taylor agreed that while his formal position and compensation would end with the last day of June 2017, he would assist with the transition until a replacement is hired by the Commission or the end of the Summer of 2017.

This motion was seconded by Anthony Harris and received a unanimous favorable vote of adoption.

The Executive Session meeting of the Hattiesburg Tourism Commission was adjourned at 12:10p.

Hattiesburg Tourism Commission

Frank James, Board Chair

Attested:

Richard Taylor, Executive Director